Facebook is a popular digital communications and networking medium. It has millions of accounts of people who use it for personal or business purposes. People make different kinds of posts on Facebook. But sometimes, the bombardment of content on this platform can become overwhelming. At this time, you may want to know how to delete a Facebook account.
It’s easy to delete an FB account, and you can do it both on the browser and the FB app on your phone. On the mobile app, you can deactivate your account. The platform gives you the option to review your choice for some time before it deletes it permanently. Learn more about deleting an FB account below.
If you are suspicious about Facebook’s online tracking and want to preserve your data, it’s time to delete your account. You can do so on a browser using these points.
You don’t need a browser to delete Facebook if you are not close to your system. Use these points to learn how to delete a Facebook account on your phone.
The process to delete your account on Facebook on an iPhone is almost the same as deleting it on an Android phone. Follow these steps on the Facebook app on your iPhone.
To delete your Facebook account, you need to input your password. However, if you don’t have access, there are some workarounds.
If you know the email ID associated with your Facebook account, it’s easy to recover your password.
Do you want to know how to delete a Facebook account, but you can’t access your password or email ID? In such a case, you may report your account as fake.
Log into Facebook and select ‘Settings & Privacy.’ Tap ‘Settings’ and then ‘Your Facebook Information.’ Now, tap ‘Deactivation and Deletion’ and choose ‘Delete Account.’
You can deactivate your FB account from the browser or the Facebook app present on your phone. Just go to the ‘Settings’ section, and from there, tap ‘Deactivation and Deletion.’ Before that, click ‘Your Facebook Information’ if you are on the browser. If you are on mobile, tap ‘Account Ownership and Control.’ Finally, tap ‘Delete Account.’
There is no way to delete a Facebook account without waiting for 14 days. According to the official Facebook policy, it won’t delete your account after you place its request until 30 days have passed.
Facebook deletes accounts that are inactive for extended periods. Facebook will delete an account that has been lying inactive for a year. Alternatively, if you don’t use your Facebook account, you can delete it yourself. Head to the Account Settings page to delete it. This process will also delete all your friends list, photos, personal data, and posts.
Facebook can delete the account for inactivity. It will also delete the account if it appears to be hacked or if it cannot confirm the account’s ownership after a year.
Facebook has made the process of deactivating an account a lengthy one. This is because it doesn’t want you to leave it. In other words, they need your information to shape their services. That is why it is not possible to delete your account in one go.
Facebook fully deletes your account only after 30 days after you initiate the deletion. After a month or thirty days, it will delete all your data permanently. There isn’t any way after account deletion to retrieve your information.
Knowing how to delete a Facebook account is equally important as knowing how to use it. You can always create a new one with another email address after deleting your existing one. If you think deletion is an extreme step, consider deactivating it, which follows the same process. You can seek Facebook support if you face any problems during account deletion.
© Digi Hub Expert. All Rights Reserved.